First 5 Steps to Take Following a Car Accident

two woman in a car accident

First 5 Steps to Take Following a Car Accident

Have you been injured in a car accident? Do you reside in the Orlando, Florida area? If so, the Orlando car accident attorneys at Blevins and Adams Law Group can provide the help and guidance you need.

Florida has 15 million licensed drivers. Did you know that? Also, there are 570,000 registered motorcycles in the state of Florida. With that many vehicles on the road, it is not surprising that car accidents are common in the state. In 2017 alone, Florida had 388,000 road incidents.

As Florida maintains a no-fault law, you must know what to do in the event of a car accident. The central Florida minor car accident attorneys at Blevins and Adams can help even if the incident is a minor one

An Overview of Florida’s Law Regarding No-Fault

By law, Florida states all vehicle owners to have personal injury protection insurance. The PIP coverage needs to be at least $10,000, to pay for lost wages and medical costs. Drivers need to have property damage liability coverage of at least $10,000.

These policies should cover drivers regardless of who is at fault. But they only protect the policy owner and no other parties involved in the crash. Your own PDL and PIP will cover you if you get in an accident that is not your fault. However, if it’s a case of negligence, you may be able to sue the at-fault driver.

If one of the drivers suffered permanent injuries because of the crash, the at-fault driver might be responsible if their negligence caused a traumatic brain injury to the other party. Orlando catastrophic car accident attorneys can help in this case to get the victim the compensation they deserve.

Five critical steps need to be done immediately after being involved in a car accident. The central Florida car accident attorneys at Blevins and Adams Law Group suggest you follow this advice.

Dial 911 Immediately After the Car Accident Happens

Shock will likely be the first thing that you feel after a car collision. You may feel too numb to realize that you have injuries that need attention, such as broken bones. Don’t move your vehicle from the crash site unless it’s causing traffic.

Inform the 911 operator of your exact location. If you can, give specific details like landmarks and highway mile marker. The more information you provide, the sooner help can arrive.

Do not reveal to the 911 operator who is at blame for the car accident. You only need to reveal where you are, the extent of the injuries, and a description of the scene. Orlando car accident lawyers can use this information to help put together a case in your defense. Make sure you seek medical attention if you are able.

File an Accident Report with the Police

You don’t have to report a minor fender-bender to the police. In the case of a hit-and-run or crash that caused personal or damage of more than $500, call the police immediately, although the operator may have notified them already. To be cautious, contact the Orlando minor car accident attorneys for advice.

This is even more critical in a hit-and-run crash if it involves a drunk driver or a collision due to negligence.

Create a Detailed Report of the Incident

Write down what you can remember before the accident. For example, try to remember the direction you were coming from prior to being hit.

  • Was the light green, red, or yellow?
  • Did you see if the other driver was speeding, swerving, or any other signs of drunk driving?
  • Did you see the other driver operating the vehicle while using a mobile phone? If so, the other driver was in breach of Senate Bill 76.
  • In case of hit-and-run, note everything you can remember about the other vehicle. The most important details are the make, model, year, plate number, and color. Small details, like dents or bumper stickers, can help the police find the other driver.
  • If the other driver involved remained at the scene, exchange vehicle and insurance details with them. Write down the make, model, year, vehicle identification number, and license plate number of their vehicle. Make sure you obtain the complete name, address, date of birth, contact info, and license number of the other driver.
  • If the driver of the other car is not the vehicle owner, ask for the owner’s complete name and contact details. Ask for the police officer’s name, contact details, and badge number as well.

Gather Evidence and Witness Details

Take photos and videos, including different angles of the vehicles involved. These recordings and images can also help identify road obstructions and weather conditions. Make sure to include street and traffic signs as part of the evidence too.

If possible, capture videos with sound, as this can provide information about the condition of the other person. For example, slurred speech may note intoxication. You might be able to record the other driver admitting fault.

If you find a cooperative witness, take a video, and ask if they can recount what happened. Get their full name and contact information. Your insurance company might contact them for more information regarding your claim.

With this type of evidence, it would be difficult for the other driver to dispute your claim. The Central Florida car accident lawyers at Blevins and Adams can ensure this evidence is presented adequately, so you can obtain the settlement you deserve.

Contact Your Insurance Company

Contact your insurance company immediately after a car accident. Your insurance company will analyze the claim to determine the extent of the damage and who’s at fault.

The claims process will make it easier and more likely to succeed with the help of a personal injury lawyer. Filing a claim for a car accident in Florida can be relatively easy because of the no-fault law. But, you can still face problems and be offered an unfair settlement. This is more the case if the driver that caused the accident was negligent.

If you were not at fault, consider hiring a personal injury attorney if you are involved in a car crash.

An experienced car accident lawyer from Blevins and Adams can help. Get in touch with them today, so they can review your case for free, as you are under no obligation. You will be glad you did.

Here at Blevins and Adams, we take a unique approach to our fee structure. We believe in giving back to the community, so instead of following the usual 1/3 for pre-litigation and 40% for litigation, we will use a 25% fee system from the very beginning to the very end. That means between 8-15% of the extra fees Florida attorneys typically charge you. We believe that the best way to use the extra money is to give back to you and our local community. Of course, there is no fee if we do not win for you. But when we win your case, the lower fee percentage could save you thousands or even tens of thousands of dollars!

Contact Us

Let’s talk about your needs and how we can help